Jesus promises the Holy Spirit

To read the entire chapter of John 14 click here

Vs 1 “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.”

FEAR – Jesus is saying don’t worry, stress out, or be afraid of what’s coming. (Jesus knows what kind of persecution is coming for the disciples in the near future.)

Let’s take a look at a few other verses that deal with fear:

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

2 Timothy 1:7 “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

Luke 12:32 “Do not fear, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.”

John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

So Jesus is telling them not to be afraid, and that just as the Hebrew nation has historically put their faith in God the Father, they can now also put their trust in Jesus Christ (“you believe in God, believe also in Me”).

Vs 2-3 “In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.”

We will be attending a great big family reunion! And it will involve the MANSIONS that Jesus has prepared for us. Can you imagine?!? It will be so much better than anything we have here. Some Bibles translate this as many rooms, so many rooms in God’s mansion.

One of the mansions in the world that is kind of fascinating to me is the Hearst Castle in California. William Randolph Hearst built this mansion starting about 100 years ago over many years using architectural pieces that he collected from all over the
world. And he built this in phases so there are a variety of guest houses surrounding it, each one is a mansion all by itself. He built it with a zoo that still has descendant animals living there to this day. The castle has 165 rooms and sits on 127 acres on a hilltop with incredible views. Check it out, it’s amazing! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hearst_Castle

The mansion that Jesus is preparing for us, whether it is many rooms in God’s mansion or a mansion all to ourselves, is going to be so much better!

Vs 4-6 “And where I go you know, and the way you know.” Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

Remember Thomas was the doubter, the questioner, the guy that wanted to see proof before he would believe.

John 20:19-29 Then, the same day at evening, being the first day of the week, when the doors were shut where the disciples were assembled, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood in the midst, and said to them, “Peace be with you.” When He had said this, He showed them His hands and His side. Then the disciples were glad when they saw the Lord. So Jesus said to them again, “Peace to you! As the Father has sent Me, I also send you.” And when He had said this, He breathed on them, and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.” Now Thomas, called the Twin, one of the twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. The other disciples therefore said to him, “We have seen the Lord.” So he said to them, “Unless I see in His hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will not believe.” And after eight days His disciples were again inside, and Thomas with them. Jesus came, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, “Peace to you!” Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.”
And Thomas answered and said to Him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

There are many times in life when we are going through things that we allow to cause us to doubt God. I have seen many miracles in my life, and yet I still doubt God’s ability to provide for my situation. He is still God and on the throne and in control, whether I have doubts or not.

In vs 6, Jesus made the statement that He is the only way to God. “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

I love this commentary from David Guzik: “Simply put, if Jesus is not the only way to God, then He is not any way to God. If there are many roads to God, then Jesus is not one of them, because He absolutely claimed there was only one road to God, and He Himself was that road. If Jesus is not the only way to God, then He was not a honest man; He was most certainly not a true prophet. He then would either be a madman or a lying devil. There is no middle ground available to us.”

Vs 15-18 “If you love Me, keep My commandments. And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever—the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you. I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.”

When we love someone, we want to please them. We want to honor them. We show them our love by doing the things that we know pleases them. Perhaps it is our Mom or Dad, a teacher, a friend, an aunt or a grandparent. When we love God, we have a heart that wants to please Him. We keep His commandments and honor Him in that way.

Jesus also tells us He is not going away and leaving us alone. He is sending us His Holy Spirit to be with us, to speak to our hearts, to comfort us when needed, to give us power when needed, and to give us guidance and direction. He repeats that idea in vs 26 “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.”

Vs 27-29 “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. You have heard Me say to you, ‘I am going away and coming back to you.’ If you loved Me, you would rejoice because I said, ‘I am going to the Father,’ for My Father is greater than I. And now I have told you before it comes, that when it does come to pass, you may believe.”

When we have believed and trusted Jesus to be our Savior, we can have the peace He offers. It takes believing and trusting or resting in Him for the peace. He will take care of us, He is on the throne and in control. No one else can say that, not the President, not the government, not Mom or Dad – no one but Jesus.

He also repeats the message to “Let not your heart be troubled”. Don’t worry about the things in life you can’t control (that covers a lot doesn’t it?)

Jesus is telling them ahead of time that He is going to be with God the Father, so that when He is crucified and raised again from the dead, they will then understand what He meant. This is similar to how God wrote the Bible. He tells us the entire story – from the beginning to the very end- so that when it comes we would then understand what He meant. The Bible is full of prophecies that were fulfilled or are waiting to be fulfilled. He tells us the end so that we can know and we can have no fear if we trust in Him for our salvation.

Leave a Reply

