The Holy Spirit – Our Helper

As we are teaching through the Book of Acts, we immediately come upon Chapter 2 which we read and studied a few weeks ago (Holy Spirit and the Day of Pentecost).

So we’re going to depart from Acts 2 just this week and study more about the Holy Spirit and how He helps us as believers.

Here in John chapter 14 Jesus is teaching the disciples and He gives them some instruction on who the Holy Spirit is. Let’s break it down:

    John 14:12-27

    12 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father.
    13 And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.
    14 If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.
    15 If ye love me, keep my commandments.
    16 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;
    17 Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.
    18 I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.
    19 Yet a little while, and the world seeth me no more; but ye see me: because I live, ye shall live also.
    20 At that day ye shall know that I am in my Father, and ye in me, and I in you.
    21 He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.
    22 Judas saith unto him, not Iscariot, Lord, how is it that thou wilt manifest thyself unto us, and not unto the world?
    23 Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.
    24 He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me.
    25 These things have I spoken unto you, being yet present with you.
    26 But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.
    27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

In verse 16, Jesus prays to give us the Comforter. I love that Jesus prays for us! One of the most incredible prayers from Jesus was for his followers in John 17 (Jesus Prays for His Followers).

Jesus also tells us here that the Holy Spirit is a Comforter (or “Helper” in other translations.) I love what David Guzik says here: “Essentially, the Holy Spirit is sent to empower and help the believer live the Christian life. The greater work described in John 14:12-14 is impossible without the empowering described in John 14:15-18.” Guzik is referring to where Jesus tells the disciples

    He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it. (Vs 12-14)

Jesus tells them that the Holy Spirit will be with them, but soon He will actually be inside of them. Verse 17 says “for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.”

Two things to notice here:

The Holy Spirit is a “He”, not an “it”. The Holy Spirit is One Person of the three-part Trinity of God.
He will dwell inside of us. Imagine holding a bottle of water in your hand. The water is with you, you are with the water. Now drink up the entire bottle. Now the water is in you. Big difference isn’t it? Now the water is helpful to you, it is nourishing to you, it cools you, it quenches your thirst. It is in you.

In verse 18 we find a promise from Jesus. “I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you”. How I love God’s promises to us!

In 2 Peter 1:4 God tells us:

    Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

Jesus tells us He will not leave us helpless, and God tells in 2 Peter that He gives us the promises of His word so that we can partake in Him and in His divine nature through the Holy Spirit and through Christ!

Here’s another promise from God:

    For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. (Jeremiah 29:11-12 ESV)

In verse 19 Jesus tells the disciples He is leaving soon, but that because He is leaving, they will have eternal life – another promise from God.

    Yet a little while, and the world seeth me no more… because I live, ye shall live also.” We have a life forever with God if we believe that Jesus died for our sin, rose again, and offers us eternity.

Here are more promises from God:

    because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.
    Romans 10:9

    and

    For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    Romans 6:23

Do you have or (have you ever had) a best friend that you just couldn’t wait to be with? When you’re with them, your whole day is brighter, you feel such joy in being with that person, you love the time you spend with them, you love talking with them and listening to them. God wants to have that kind of relationship with us! If we love Jesus, we will be followers of Him, we will want to be with Him all the time, to serve Him and listen to Him.

That’s why verse 21 says

    He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.

As His followers, we can know His voice by the Holy Spirit:

    My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.
    John 10:27-29

The Holy Spirit will also teach us as we study the Bible and seek to know Him more.

    But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you. (Vs 26)

Here Jesus is also telling the disciples that as they write down all these things into the Bible, the Holy Spirit will remind them of what Jesus said, taught, and did. Jesus is also telling you and I that as we read and study His word, the Bible, God will teach us, and bring His word to our minds when we need it. Another one of His beautiful promises!

As the Comforter, the Holy Spirit will also bring us peace.

    Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (Vs 27)

What a blessing that is! Peace in the storms of life! We had a rough week at our house. But we have God’s peace in our hearts, in our house, and in our lives. (See Raindrops, Hondas, and Confident Obedience – my wife’s blog on our week)

    And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
    Philippians 4:7

This peace goes beyond anything we can understand. We will not be able to get our mind around it, but it’s a wonderful and blessed peace.

Check out another great blog: I Blessed the Most High
by sonflowerranch

9 thoughts on “The Holy Spirit – Our Helper

  1. Pingback: Finding Peace | Seventeen 20

  2. Pingback: Sporadic Havoc and Painful Places | Broken Believers ♥

  3. Pingback: The Holy Spirit is the third Elijah | daily meditation

  4. Pingback: BE ENCOURAGED THE SPIRIT OF JESUS IS ABIDING IN YOU | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

  5. Pingback: Jesus Said, “IT IS FINISHED” But why do I still feel the way I do? | poems4him

  6. Pingback: An awful lot of them out there « Minkyweasel World

  7. Pingback: Trusting in the Name of the Lord to Sustain the Weary | Inspirational Matters

  8. Pingback: With One Accord | Desiring to Walk Humbly with My God

Leave a Reply

