By Myself, I’m Not Good Enough – Job 42

Job has been through an incredibly difficult time of pain and suffering with no answer from The Lord. (See our previous posts on what Job suffered as they are linked below)

Then God answers Job “out of the whirlwind” and says:

    “Who is this who darkens counsel By words without knowledge? Now prepare yourself like a man; I will question you, and you shall answer Me.” ~ Job 38:2-3

The Lord puts Job in his place and shows him all through ch. 38-41 just how awesome and powerful He as God truly is, and how powerless and foolish Job is to think he is “good enough”.

“When Job’s hope had vanished, God came in the power and strength of a tornado. Seated on an ash heap, scraping his sores and lamenting his loss, Job repeatedly called out for God’s justice. He sought his day in court to argue his innocence before God. With great self-righteous confidence he cried out in protest to the Lord:

    ‘Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him. Even so, I will defend my own ways before Him. Oh, that I knew where I might find Him, that I might come to His seat! I would present my case before Him, and fill my mouth with arguments. I would know the words which He would answer me, and understand what He would say to me. Would He contend with me in His great power? No! But He would take note of me. There the upright could reason with Him, and I would be delivered forever from my Judge’
    ~ Job 13:15-24; 23:3-7

In his last recorded speech before seeing the Lord he cried out:

    ‘Oh, that I had one to hear me! Here is my mark. Oh, that the Almighty would answer me, that my Prosecutor had written a book! Surely I would carry it on my shoulder, and bind it on me like a crown; I would declare to Him the number of my steps; like a prince I would approach Him.’
    ~Job 31:35-37″

{from Donald Smith}

Job had been sure that he was absolutely innocent. He was certain he could make his case before God and convince The Lord that he had done no wrong. Today, there are so many people that feel like all they need to do to get to heaven is to do more good things than they do bad things.

Now in chapter 42 we see Job respond in confession and repentance:

    Then Job answered the LORD and said:
    “I know that You can do everything, And that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You.
    You asked, ‘Who is this who hides counsel without knowledge?’ Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, Things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.
    Listen, please, and let me speak; You said, ‘I will question you, and you shall answer Me.’
    “I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear, But now my eye sees You.
    Therefore I abhor myself, And repent in dust and ashes.”
    And so it was, after the LORD had spoken these words to Job, that the LORD said to Eliphaz the Temanite, “My wrath is aroused against you and your two friends, for you have not spoken of Me what is right, as My servant Job has.
    Now therefore, take for yourselves seven bulls and seven rams, go to My servant Job, and offer up for yourselves a burnt offering; and My servant Job shall pray for you. For I will accept him, lest I deal with you according to your folly; because you have not spoken of Me what is right, as My servant Job has.”
    ~ Job 42:1-8

Notice that in all of these chapters and even though Job made some wrong assumptions about his own innocence, God still thinks of Job as a “blameless” man. Job consistently proclaimed God’s power and glory all through the book of Job.

“Job was ‘blameless.’ This does not mean Job was sinless, but blameless. There is a huge difference. Sin is vertical, blameless is horizontal. . . . as Job lived before the watchful eye of his peers, no one could justly charge Job with moral failure. His reputation was impeccable.”
(Lawson as quoted by David Guzik)

“Job is not considered to be perfect or sinless. All the speakers in the book, including Job himself, are convinced that men are sinful. Job’s first recorded act is to offer sacrifices for sin. This is not the point. It is possible for sinful men to be genuinely good.” (Andersen as quoted by David Guzik)

    So Eliphaz the Temanite and Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite went and did as the LORD commanded them; for the LORD had accepted Job.
    And the LORD restored Job’s losses when he prayed for his friends. Indeed the LORD gave Job twice as much as he had before.
    ~ Job 42:9-10

Not only did The Lord restore Job, but “LORD gave Job twice as much as he had before”. God restores Job financially, He returns to Job his friends, and He even gives Job more children. Does this mean that if God loves me a whole lot, he’ll make me rich? Of course not. Does it mean that if God allows me to go through an incredibly difficult time, He will pile material blessings and lots of friends and family on me – twice what I had? Nope. What this tells us is that God cares about each of us deeply. He created us in His image, therefore we are so very special to Him. There is no other part of God’s creation that He considers more important than people.

He cares so much, that He sent Jesus to die in our place. Did God send a horse to die in the place of other sinful horses? No. Did God send a tree to die in the place of other trees, so trees could one day be in heaven with Him for eternity? Of course not. God loves us because we are that unique part of His creation who were created in a bodily form similar in appearance to God.

Therefore, God loves:

Every. Single. Person.

    So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them. ~ Genesis 1:27

    For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb.
    I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.
    My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
    Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, When as yet there were none of them.
    How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them!
    ~ Psalm 139:13-17

In Jeremiah 1 God says “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you.” God knew you before you were even born. He crafted you together, like a sculptor uses clay, into the person you are today. He loves you and me and wants us to spend eternity with Him in heaven.

    Since you were precious in My sight, You have been honored, And I have loved you…
    ~ Isaiah 43:4

    But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from wrath through Him.
    ~ Romans 5:8-9

Notice also that God has Job pray for his friends who were in sin. We are called to pray for one another. Job’s prayer was for their sins to be forgiven, and we know that God answers the prayers of those that love Him.

    Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much. ~ James 5:16

    Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior.
    ~ 1 Timothy 2:1-3

The Lord loves to answer our prayers! This shows He loves us, and He reveals His own glory and power when He responds. He doesn’t always answer the way we want him to answer. But He always responds knowing what we truly need.

    Then they cry out to the LORD in their trouble, And He brings them out of their distresses.
    He calms the storm, So that its waves are still.
    Then they are glad because they are quiet; So He guides them to their desired haven.
    Oh, that men would give thanks to the LORD for His goodness, And for His wonderful works to the children of men!
    Let them exalt Him also in the assembly of the people, And praise Him in the company of the elders.
    ~ Psalm 107:28-32

Even Job admits that God’s will can be hidden from him, but that God does what He does for Job’s benefit.

    Look, I go forward, but He is not there, And backward, but I cannot perceive Him;
    When He works on the left hand, I cannot behold Him; When He turns to the right hand, I cannot see Him.
    But He knows the way that I take; When He has tested me, I shall come forth as gold.
    My foot has held fast to His steps; I have kept His way and not turned aside.
    I have not departed from the commandment of His lips; I have treasured the words of His mouth More than my necessary food.
    But He is unique, and who can make Him change? And whatever His soul desires, that He does.
    For He performs what is appointed for me, And many such things are with Him.
    ~ Job 23:8-14

Job’s Restoration

    Then all his brothers, all his sisters, and all those who had been his acquaintances before, came to him and ate food with him in his house; and they consoled him and comforted him for all the adversity that the LORD had brought upon him. Each one gave him a piece of silver and each a ring of gold.
    Now the LORD blessed the latter days of Job more than his beginning; for he had fourteen thousand sheep, six thousand camels, one thousand yoke of oxen, and one thousand female donkeys.
    He also had seven sons and three daughters.
    And he called the name of the first Jemimah, the name of the second Keziah, and the name of the third Keren-Happuch.
    In all the land were found no women so beautiful as the daughters of Job; and their father gave them an inheritance among their brothers.
    After this Job lived one hundred and forty years, and saw his children and grandchildren for four generations.
    So Job died, old and full of days.
    ~ Job 42:11-17

Our pastor was teaching in Exodus 17 this week about the Hebrews wandering in the wilderness. They were led by God to a place where there was no drinkable water.

    Then all the congregation of the children of Israel set out on their journey from the Wilderness of Sin, according to the commandment of the LORD, and camped in Rephidim; but there was no water for the people to drink.
    Therefore the people contended with Moses, and said, “Give us water, that we may drink.” So Moses said to them, “Why do you contend with me? Why do you tempt the LORD?”
    And the people thirsted there for water, and the people complained against Moses, and said, “Why is it you have brought us up out of Egypt, to kill us and our children and our livestock with thirst?”
    ~ Exodus 17:1-3

The people were led to this place in the wilderness by God. They were not simply wandering about with no leadership. God intentionally brought them to this place of thirst just like God brought Job to a place where he was crying out to God. They whined and complained and wished to go back to Egypt and slavery! But God wanted them here. It was in the wilderness with no water that they thirsted. Job was thirsting for a response from God. You and I often do the same.

That’s where God wants us. He leads us to a place where we thirst for Him – we thirst for a Savior, we hunger for someone to rescue us. God loves us so much! And He wants us in a place where we need Him. He will reply. He will rescue you. Call out to Jesus when you are in that place.

Look at this story of Peter and Jesus:

    But the boat was now in the middle of the sea, tossed by the waves, for the wind was contrary.
    Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea.
    And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.
    But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”
    And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”
    So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.
    But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”
    And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”
    And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.
    ~ Matthew 14:24-32

Peter asked Jesus to call him out of the boat. Jesus does so, and then Peter cries out in fear “Lord save me!” By ourselves, we are not good enough to get to heaven. Only by faith in Christ can we be good enough. Jesus saves. We can believe on Him that He can save us and He will save us.

Previous Posts on Job:

Why Does God Allow he Righteous to Suffer?

Looking Through a Glass Darkly – Job 19

The LORD Speaks to Job out of the Whirlwind – Job 38-41

Leave a Reply

